top of page
  • girlupqueens1

Charlotte’s Picks: Top 5 Taylor Swift songs



A role model for many young girls and women, Taylor Swift is one of the music industry’s top superstars, both for her incredible songwriting and vocals. I personally have grown alongside Taylor’s career, from her debut album, to her most recent album titled “Midnights”. As I prepare myself to attend one of her shows in May, I’ve decided to highlight a handful of my favorite songs from her career thus far; all very subjectively, of course. Whether a die-hard Swiftie like myself, or simply a loyal reader, I hope you enjoy my take on Taylor Swift’s top 5 songs of all time.


5. Cruel Summer – From her 7th album “Lover”, Cruel Summer has been my little sister and I’s “summer jam” since it’s come out. I have such distinct memories of us driving down the Jersey Shore during sunset blasting this song, and it always makes me miss her as well as my home in New Jersey every time it comes on.


4. Last Kiss – Last Kiss is, in my opinion, one of her best songs in terms of lyrics. The beauty of Taylor Swift’s song production is that she is able to captivate you no matter if you relate to her songs or not; she uses such emotion and passion in every one of her songs. In particular, this 13th track on her album “Speak Now” has an incredible bridge that takes you on a roller coaster ride of emotions as it has such a unique vividness.

3. You’re On Your Own, Kid – Swift's latest album, “Midnights”, reveals some of her most honest and vulnerable tracks, where she shares some of the thoughts that have kept her up at night. The fifth track, entitled “You’re On Your Own, Kid”, balances both self-reflection and narrative, and the longing for friendship and affection. Eventually, it seems as though Taylor realizes she is her own friend through the phases in her life. Since I’ve heard it for the first time, it has been on my daily rotation of songs to which I listen to on my way to classes. I think many people interpret it in different ways, thus why it is such a special song.


2. Champagne Problems – I’ve always had a soft spot for one of her most popular songs off of her album “Evermore”, Champagne Problems. However, it was not until someone had pointed out to me the parallels between this song and one of my favorite TV shows, “Gilmore Girls”, that it instantly hiked up my favorites list. Champagne Problems to a failed marriage proposal, “Sometimes you just don’t know the answer, ‘til someone’s on their knee and asks you...”, which, *SPOILER ALERT*, is exactly what occurs when Rory Gilmore declines Logan’s marriage proposal. As someone who still believes this pair should have been endgame, this song definitely hits a specific spot!


1. All Too Well (10 minutes version) -- And at the top of the pyramid we have... The reknown All Too Well (10 minutes version). This iconic song, although filled with heart-wrenching lyrics, is reminiscent of such a sweet time in my life; my first Fall season at Queen’s University. Odds were, if you had stopped me while walking on campus during November 2021, I was listening to this song. Funny enough, I have never attended the ARC as much as I did during that month, as listening to this song on loop a few times would get me through an entire workout. No matter how much I’ve listened to this song, I am still surprisingly not tired of it yet, and I don’t think I’ll ever be!

 

Contributors: Charolette Swane

19 views
bottom of page